He is near!

I can remember a long time ago – after my (then) husband had died (murdered in JHB) and my children and I had moved from our lovely home, to one place to another place.  I lost my job because my mind wasn’t on work and was too worried about how to feed my children and where we were going to stay because the house we were in I couldn’t afford to pay the rent.  Our house being locked by the landlord, our furniture being on the lawn with nowhere to go and no money….. my two boys and I sat on the lawn praying that God would somehow do something and save us… not really expecting anything to happen… but not knowing what to do either… We prayed as a last resort.

Well….. near the end of the day, us being hungry and tired – we were given the opportunity of moving into a rondavel behind a house that was being used as a business – and to boot, they didn’t want any rent from us.  Our prayers were answered, even though the accommodation was for a short period.

 So, my question today is?

Have you ever woken up filled with anxiety when all you want to do is pull the covers back over your head and forget everything? 
Reading my Bible this morning I was reminded of the profound truth that prayer isn’t something I had to do,rather prayer is something I get to do. I get to bring to God every single worry and concern on my heart. In fact, when worry and concern knocks on my door of life, if the door is opened by prayer, no-one is there! God’s cure for worry is always the same – PRAY – not pulling the covers back over my head!  His way is always action and this action begins with making everything known to Him!  We need to remember that although we cannot see God in the physical, He is always near!  He hears everything we say and do!  

Tells us that we don’t have to be anxious for anything.  He is near and we can have peace within ourselves – a deep peace that surpasses all understanding as we know it in the flesh.  Therefore Rest and be at peace and know that God has already answered your prayers.


Psalm 29:11
The Lord will give strength to His people; the Lord will bless His people with peace.
Comments
2 Responses to “He is near!”
  1. Janine on 02/02/2011 20:39 I am so glad that I noticed you as a new follower on my blog, because now it's my turn to be encouraged by your post this evening. My goodness. I cannot even imagine what you and your boys have been through … but I too have encountered the amazing goodness and provision of God's love when we trust Him. Just last night we were sharing in church on what you have written in your post today – the trust journey of learning to hand over all anxiety to Jesus. Thank you for these words of life today! Much love to you today.

  2. Debra replied on 03/02/2011 12:41 Thank you Janine. The more of us that stand together in Christ, the angrier the devil gets Yippeeeee…..

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
