Espagnole Sauce

This is a classic rich brown sauce which I also use as a base for a lot of my ‘brown sauces‘. The consistency should not be too thick but gently run off the back of a spoon.
Ingredients
25 gsm butter
50 gsm chopped bacon
2 shallots which have been finely chopped
1 celery stick which has also been finely chopped
1 carrot which has also been finely chopped
mushrooms diced very finely
550 ml hot brown stock
boquet garni
pinch salt
15 ml brandy or sherry
Melt the butter in a pan and fry the bacon for about 4 minutes
Add the shallots, carrot, celery and musroom
then cook for another 5 minutes
Gradually stir in the flour and stir gently, cook for another five minutes
Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the stock (slowly)
Bring to the boil – slowly
Add the balance of ingredients and gently simmer for about 45 minutes.
Then….. Enjoy
Comments
2 Responses to “Espagnole Sauce”
  1. MrsJenB says:

    This looks absolutely divine!! I love a nice, rich brown sauce. I'll have to convert for my own measurements but I know it'll be worth it! 😉

  2. Anna says:

    Hi!I'm from the Boost my Blog hop. This sauce sounds delicious! I look forward to future posts.Feel free to check out my blog here:http://inadaze13.blogspot.com/

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
