No East or West

With the current state of affairs in the world (Japan) earthquakes, tsunamis, different languages and people… I thought I would share this message written by Linda Ching Sledge.

MY Hometown Church is on a winding street on the outskirts of old Honolulu.  It was built in the 1880’s by Boston missionaries who served the earliest Christian immigrants to Hawai from Canton China.  After a century, the descendants of those first Cantonese Christians still worship there.  It’s a proud heritage.  But for a youngster growing up in that church, it was sometimes confusing.

There were two sermons, one in English and one in Cantonese for the “old folks” who couldn’t speak the language of their adopted homeland.  As a child, I found the Chinese sermon long and boring.  I could understand only a few words of Chinese, so the words made no sense.  Oh, how the long minutes dragged by!.

Then one Sunday, at the closing hymn, I heard strange sounds coming from the pew behind me.  It was an old Chinese grandfather singing at the top of his lungs … in Chinese!

It was so funny to hear two sets of words sung to the same tune at the same time.  I couldn’t resist peeking.  The old man’s head was thrown back, his eyes closed, and he was singing as if the words were pulled from his heart.

And suddenly, though I didn’t know his words, I understood their meaning.  And… I began to sing too, straight from my Heart.

In Christ there is NO East or West
In Him no South or North
But one great fellowship of love
Throughout the WHOLE WIDE EARTH!

Acts: 4v32
All the believers were one in heart and mind.  No one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they shared everything they had.

This is how we as a ‘people’ need to be at the moment – all believers one in heart and mind praying continuously for this situation!

Comments
One Response to “No East or West”
  1. This post brought a smile to my face. Lovely….

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
