Trust

My 2 Son’s, Marck & Michael

A Mother comes equipped with an internal anxiety meter.  It’s right in the middle of her heart and has each child’s name engraved on it.  There are certain phrases in the English Language that cause it to jump and spin …..

  • ”Mom, my principal wants a meeting with you right away!.
  • ”Mom, remember how long Gail’s hair used to be?
  • ”Hello, this is the school nurse.  We have been checking for head lice and ….”.
  • ”Mom, remember the pretty flowers that you used to have in the garden?  Here, these are for you …..:)”.

These are the standard meter spinners.  We also have our family’s encounters with each other, interaction with the neighbors, school friends, teacher, and others, not to mention the physical dangers our children are exposed to each day.

During the early years of their lives, we try to nurture and prepare our little birds in the nest.  Then it becomes time to let them try their wings in all kinds of new situations, social, emotional, physical, and even intellectual.  As we watch these solo flights, (in my instance, due to personal circumstances my boys went to boarding school from an early age) we are proud, but a little scared; hopeful, but a little apprehensive.  We want to stand back and give them room to soar …. but at the same time we want to hold their hands.

However, we do release them into the world and our anxiety meters begin to spin again.

The same God who gave us our children, these precious gifts of his love, is worthy and able to take care of them.  He is worthy of our complete trust!  We need to remember this!!!!

Trust:

A conscious act of placing each child in his hands.  With this act comes a beautiful awareness that through each experience, social, emotional, physical, and intellectual, He is at work in their lives.  He is moulding them into what He would have them become.  Turning even what we perceive as hurtful into His good.  Turning failures, into footsteps ….. footsteps toward Himself!!

I look at my children today – and I am soooo proud!!!
A single Mom (widowed at an early age) bringing up my two boys to the best of my ability – relying and trusting God for His daily miracles which He never failed to show me;
how He was in control and all I had to do was Trust in HIM!
Thank you Jesus for being the constant rock in my life!!!
Comments
7 Responses to “Trust”
  1. Nichole says:

    As a mom to a toddler I'm really starting to become intimately aware of that internal anxiety meter! 🙂

  2. Debra-I hope that I can learn the lesson of "trust" when I have children. I imagine you were (and still are!) an excellent mother!

  3. Sydney says:

    Debra- Great post! Nice yo know that there is always someone reliable and trustworthy to lean on!Your sons sound great!

  4. Lisa Taylor says:

    It is *so* frightening to let them venture out into the world. Trusting them and trusting to the light to watch over them is all we can, and I suppose ought to do. (But honestly it still just gives me a nervous stomach! )

  5. Lynn says:

    I have such anxiety for my little one every day, and now that he has entered school it is even worse. I do have a peace knowing that the Lord is watching over him.

  6. Alexandria says:

    Since becoming a mother & a mother to a boy no doubt my anxiety meter is always in the red. But sometimes I just have to sit back & trust that all will be ok.

  7. Debra says:

    Thank you for the lovely comments ladies… I do… have amazing sons!!! They are still incredible after everything they have been through.

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
