Chicken and Chicklet Update 05 July 2011

I didn’t realise that I have missed giving everyone an update.

Petunia was FINALLY accepted into the ‘family’ and Tony and I breathed a heavy sigh of relief.  Thanks to all the encouragement from friends 🙂

Then, Petal got extremely broody and wouldn’t leave the nest (all this being a learning curve for me 🙂 We took a walk down to another farm where the owner sold ‘fertilised eggs’.  We chose the breed as we saw them, and he gave us their egg’s so that we knew what we were getting.   Needless to say, one we broke on the way home, and another was eaten (by Petal) a couple of days later. Three eggs didn’t hatch.

It took exactly 21 days for Petal to sit on her eggs and then they hatched, one-by-one.  It was one of the most beautiful sights to behold!  The little yellow one – who we called Buttercup was the last one to hatch!  She has in turn become the little Leader of the  chicklet Pack!

I can’t believe how quickly they have grown.  The only thing is that my hubby is not going to keep the ‘male birds’.  Only one cockerel – we have to wait a while to determine their sex.  Apparently it has something to do with the ‘cone on their heads’.  I’m still a bit ignorant when it comes to these things.  learning as I go along….. (I sound like a stuck record …)

I will try to get ‘individual’ pictures of the ‘chicklets’. To catch these little things is another story entirely – they move like lightening!

Comments
9 Responses to “Chicken and Chicklet Update 05 July 2011”
  1. Nichole says:

    Oh my goodness, can't wait to see pics!! :o)

  2. Carla Royal says:

    I am seriously interested in getting chickens so you are giving me an education! I love the name Buttercup. I have an old hound mix dog friend named Buttercup, and if you are interested, I will send you a photo of Buttercup and a baby chick. It may be one of the sweetest photos ever. Good luck with your chicks. May they all be female!

  3. Trianna says:

    I love the name Buttercup! Now I want to go watch the Princess Bride! LOL I can't wait to see some pictures.

  4. Lisa Taylor says:

    I can't wait till we finish improving and enlarging our chicken "pen"! Then I plan on adding to our "flock". but yes – only one rooster please. All they do is fight and crow constantly!

  5. Thanks for the update! I am so glad that everyone is getting along and that you have an ever growing family.

  6. Marie Noelle says:

    I am sooo waiting for the pictures!!!I love your chik's story!!!

  7. Ms Bibi says:

    You gave your chicks the cutest names…I love it.I can't wait for all the pictures as well.

  8. Alex says:

    Yes post pictures!!! You might also want to check out a blog called…The Little Hen House http://thelittlehenhouse.com/ she blogs about raising chicks too. Love the new design

  9. Thank you ladies… I do so love receiving comments… I am def going to check out the new site recommended above and I will let you know as soon as I post some more pics of the 'chicklets' – although, they are growing soooooo fast! Cant wait to see the photo of the other 'Buttercup and chic' xx Bless you all xx

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
