Unlawful Sexual Relations – Old Testament

Original Image : Tamson Weston
Modified for this Post : Debra Archibald

MOSES writes the book of Leviticus while the Israelites are in the wilderness, before they enter the promised land.

In it he reports to them the numerous religious, civil and moral laws that Gods revealed to him on Mount Sinai.

As you read this book, some of it may seem dull and boring,

But think about how holy God is,

how He wants You to serve Him in every part of your life and in all you do!

It is VERY clear as to what God wants and does not want!
(All the while, remembering that this is still in the ‘Old Testament – way back when)

Leviticus 18:  1 – 30

  1. The Lord said to Moses,

  2. ‘Speak to the Israelites and say to them: ‘I am the Lord of your God.

  3. You must not do as they do in Egypt, where you used to live, and you must not do as they do in the land of Canaan, where I am bringing you.  Do not follow their practices.

  4. You must obey the laws and be careful to follow my decrees.  I am the Lord your God.

  5. Keep my decrees and laws, for the man who obeys them will live by them.  I am the Lord.

  6. No one is to approach any close relative to have sexual relations.  I am the Lord.

  7. Do not dishonour your father by having sexual relations with your mother.  She is your mother; do not have relations with her,

  8. Do not have sexual relations with your father’s wife; that would dishonour your father.

  9. Do not have sexual relations with your sister; either your father’s daughter’s or your mother’s daughter; whether she was born in the same home or elsewhere.

  10. Do not have sexual relations with your son’s daughter or your daughter’s daughter, that would dishonour you. Do not have sexual relations with your son’s daughter of your father’s sister, she is your father’s close relative.

  11. Do not have sexual relations with the daughter of your father’s wife, born to your father, she is your sister.

  12. Do not have sexual relations with your father’s sister, she is your father’s close relative.

  13. Do not have sexual relations with your mother’s sister, because she is your mother’s close relative.

  14. Do not dishonour your father’s brother by approaching his wife to have sexual relations, she is your aunt.

  15. Do not have sexual relations with your daughter-in-law.  She is your son’s wife, do not have relations with her.

  16. Do not have sexual relations with your brother’s wife, that would dishonor your brother.

  17. Do not have sexual relations with both a woman and her daughter.  Do not have sexual relations with either her son’s daughter or her daughter’s daughter, they are her close relatives.  That is wickedness.

  18. Do not take your wife’s sister as a rival wife and have sexual relations with her while your wife is living.

  19. Do not approach a woman to have sexual relations during the uncleanness of her monthly period.

  20. Do not have sexual relations with your neighbours wife and defile yourself with her.

  21. Do not give any of your children to be sacrificed to Molech, for you must not profane the name of your God. I am your Lord.

  22. Do not lie with a man as one lies with a woman; that is detestable.

  23. Do not have sexual relations with an animal and defile yourself with it.   A woman must not present herself to an animal to have sexual relations with it that is a perversion.

  24. Do not defile yourselves in any of these ways, because this is how the nations that I am going to drive out before you became defiled.

  25. Even the land was defiled; so I punished it for its sin and the land vomited out is inhabitants.

  26. But you must keep my decrees and my laws.  The native-born and the aliens living among you must not do any of these detestable things,

  27. for all these things were done by the people who lived in the land before you, and the land became defiled.

  28. And if you defile the land, it will vomit you out as it vomited out the nations that were before you.

  29. Everyone who does any of these detestable things, – such as persons must be cut off from their people.

  30. Keep my requirements and do not follow any of the detestable customs that were practiced before you came and do not defile yourselves with them.  I am the Lord your God.’

Comments
9 Responses to “Unlawful Sexual Relations – Old Testament”
  1. Carla Royal says:

    Debra, I hear that this is VERY clear to you, and VERY clear to those who interpreted this text. I agree with much of what is written here but certainly not all. We don't actually know what Moses said. This text was written somewhere around 1400 B.C., in Hebrew and then translated into Greek. Many, many translations and interpretations have taken place since then, and the culture was completely different from ours today. I always get a little nervous when folks are so certain what God does and does not want. God is so much bigger than our little minds. There is no way to put God in a box, though we try again and again.

  2. Carla, this is part of what I LOVE about blogging – we can have different discussions and open our eyes to different opinions. I added the Old Testament Part to the 'heading' because I know that this was written 'way back then' and agree, that with all the translations in time – we lose/have lost a lot. I agree with you and am so glad that God is much bigger than our minds, otherwise where would we be today?Bless youDebra x

  3. Carla Royal says:

    Yes, Debra, this is something I appreciate about you. I knew I could express myself freely here and you would take it in the spirit I intended, for I mean no disrespect to you. But I have seen so, so many harmed with scriptures that are translated and interrupted in so many different ways. I would be inauthentic if I did not speak my mind. Bless you, back.

  4. Modern Gypsy says:

    Very valid & clear points here, & unfortunately we so often hear of them being broken too

  5. Lisa Taylor says:

    Carla's words cover everything I was thinking – and Debra I love our response to them! Interesting post. The Old Testament God has always seemed so unflinching to me – I'm much more of a New Testament girl myself 🙂 But I love reading it and studying the history behind and surrounding it all 😉

  6. Trianna says:

    I completely agree with Carla. This was written thousands of years ago and translated, revised and maybe even slightly altered. I appreciate that you were open about her opinion but still stuck to yours.They are still good rules to live by!

  7. Ms Bibi says:

    Great post and great discussion going on here.Yes, indeed it was written thousands and thousands years ago and can't be taken literally or we would end up like the Sister Wives on TLC, but it does give us guidance and rules to live by if taken the way it was intended for the era we are living in.

  8. Upon reading this post it feels incomplete without the dialogue between Carla and Debra.Like Lisa, I am more of a New Testament girl. I look at it is Jesus being God's New Covenant with people….Regardless, I am just thankful that God is so much bigger than me and that regardless of my thoughts, feelings His understanding of things are bigger than mine.

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
