A Holy Life

Have you ever had difficulty with this Scripture verse:
‘Be holy, because I am holy’ (Leviticus 11v44; 1 Peter 1v16)?
Since most people think being holy is synonymous with being sinless, who could possibly be holy?  It’s unattainable ….. unimaginable!
A friend once said, ”I know holy means ‘set apart”, but I don’t want to be set apart.  That sounds like being in quarantine for having a constant case of measles!’.  Some people think of a holy person as one who lives a monkish existence, praying 23 hours a day in order to avoid sin.  Holiness, however, does not bring isolation but integration.  With Christ in you, his character becomes a part of you so that his nature may be expressed through you.  In other words, Christ likeness will come out of you naturally.
When you are set apart by God for a purpose, holiness becomes natural.  ‘The Father’ is the Gardener; Christ is the Seed.  With Christ in you, you will grow to be like him.

1 John 3v9
No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him.

It is natural for the Lord not to sin.  Therefore, with God’s seed in you, it becomes increasingly natural for you not to sin.  What seems impossible becomes possible.  You will not become instantly sinless, but you will sin less and less and less.

God calls you holy.  With His presence inside you, he will produce the impossible through you.  Why settle for anything less?

1 Peter 1v16
1 Peter 1 13-25

Comments
9 Responses to “A Holy Life”
  1. Nichole says:

    Never really thought about what the word HOLY means.

  2. Mariah says:

    I really like the idea of integration instead of isolation. I had never thought of it that way!

  3. Lisa Taylor says:

    Lovely words, thoughts, and faith! Quakers try to make every moment something sacred – something we are conscious of, remembering the "light" all the while, even in the most mundane things. (I tend to fail a lot at this 🙂 I always enjoy your scripture quotations – I feel my knowledge of the bible is somewhat lacking and am currently trying to educate myself!Blessings,

  4. webly says:

    Sometimes I get lost in the circumstances of life and forget about God's grace and the gift of his sacrifice. Thank you for the reminder today.

  5. Meghann says:

    I love reading your words. I'm glad you shared more of your own voice in this one. Keep it up, lady 🙂

  6. Ms Bibi says:

    Very well written and explained…..I never thought about it that way.

  7. Lisa Taylor says:

    Hi DebraHmmm I commented on this post already and my comment isn't here! Where did it go I wonder?Ah well…This reminds me of the Quaker thoughts of awareness – of remembering the light (the spirit) in all that we do.I do appreciate the biblical quotes. My knowledge in this are is growing & you're being very helpful with that growth!

  8. Debra says:

    Holy: pure in heart; godly; pious; irreproachable; guiltless; acceptable to God.Thanks everyone for your comments! Lisa, your comments are there? Dont know what happened …

  9. Wow—- I have read these passages, but not quite with this perspective. You've got me thinking!

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
