Because ….. of the Resurrection

When in High School, a campus life leader commented that before our group graduated,

quite likely that one of our classmates would die.

Death is that near, he said.

Even young people die.

His prediction was wrong!

None of my high school classmates died.  But a few years later, on one day, in the instant it takes for a car and truck to collide, six college classmates died.

These weren’t anonymous men and women; I knew each of them.  When they died, I was hundreds of miles away from taking classes at another university.  After the phone call, I was overwhelmed by my powerlessness.  Alone, I had no one to share my grief, to hold me when I sobbed.  To grieve for one would have been torture enough.  Grieving for six tore me apart.

Loving sets us up for sorrow, that’s true.  However, it can also encourage us to hope.  Although I didn’t understand it immediately, I grew to realise that the affection I had for these classmates had grown from a foundation of common faith. On such a foundation, my hope began to flourish.  What we had most in common was the very thing that assured me of their well-being.  Because of the resurrection, the horror of death melted away.

I would see them again, because:

We believe that Jesus died and rose again

and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those

who have fallen asleep in him.

According to the Lord’s own word,

we tell you that  ~ we who are still alive,

who are left till the coming of the Lord,

will certainly not precede those who have fallen asleep……

And so we will be with the Lord forever.

Therefore, encourage each other with these words:

1 Thessalonians 4:   14-15, 17-18

I can’t help but grow sad when I look at some of the photographs in my college year books.  But I have hope because I know that  “death has been swallowed up in victory”.

1 Corinthians 15: 54

Jesus Christ is the Victor!  He has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel”

2 Timothy 1: 10

What do YOU believe? Do you agree or do you have another point of view?

This I believe was written by Martha Manikas-Foster

Comments
8 Responses to “Because ….. of the Resurrection”
  1. Cheryl Combes from Facebook says:

    I believe Debra:)) xx

  2. Carla Royal says:

    What an incredible loss of young life, Debra. I’m glad you were able to grieve and I’m glad you found hope.

  3. I believe as well. Nothing is every lost or forgotten! 😀

  4. Alexis Grace says:

    I believe!!! What a horrendous experience, but what a beautiful outlook!

  5. Martha says:

    (FYI, that was written by Martha Manikas-Foster.)

    Martha M-F

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
