Are you ‘Flexible’ ? Is everything under Scrutiny?

Many of us are crippled from birth.  The backbone of our standard for living comes fused into unyielding rules and regulations.  We are rigid in our determination to control life’s course and outcome. We have this need to scrutinise every little detail of life, through a magnifying glass.

We are so sure, for example, how people ought to look, behave and respond.  Things have to be done a certain way, our way.  We know too, exactly how a godly marriage should ‘operate’ and, we are quite familiar with the model of the ‘ideal Christian family scene’, which, of course, we intend to ‘duplicate perfectly’.

Then realityof life sneaks up and whacks us from behind, seeking to break our unbending back and our stiff neck, threatening to paralyse us.

There is a cure!

We are offered an opportunity to exercise the suppleness of godly grace and perspective.  Each time life throws us a punch, we can do a deep-knee bend, forcing out muscles of faith, hope, and understanding to stretch.

Eventually, that brittle backbone will grow strong and supple, bending with the rhythm of grace yet standing tall and firm in the face of compromise and challenge.

All of this requires considerable daily “give”. Such give is not a one-time choice but a lifestyle of generosity, spontaneity , and openness to truth.

How often I have thought that if I could give just one gift to my children

besides a heart of God, that it would be the golden  gift of flexibility

which would start by kneeling down in prayer .

Comments
8 Responses to “Are you ‘Flexible’ ? Is everything under Scrutiny?”
  1. Candi Elm says:

    I love it. Such amazing thoughts. It is a practiced trait. One we will continue to learn.
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Bibi says:

    So true as always, my dear friend! I used to be one the the most un-flexible people and it was hard and so stressful. I made many changes in my life last few months and still working on many issues, but I am slowly becoming very flexible….and it is so freeing. I love my life for the first time in a very long time.

    • Debra says:

      I am so happy to hear that! I too am at the stage where I can honestly say I love my life for the first time in a very long time – I know how that feels! 🙂

  3. Lisa Taylor says:

    Oh I certainly have a hard time with being “flexible”. I do like to be in control…. Something I continue to work on!

  4. The exercise metaphor is great… thanks!

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
