Author of Creativity

The dramatic masks of Thalia and Melpomene, th...

Image via Wikipedia

I am troubled about a quality of blandness in our nation today, a lack of creativity.  It’s apparent in our leaders.  Most gear their lives to television ratings, are afraid to take stands on issues.  Movies and stage plays focus on sex and violence, with little originality.  Sex so dominates advertising and the arts that is has become commonplace, almost boring.

Jesus lashed out at the spiritless quality in the people of his time.

I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot.  I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm – neither hot nor cold – I am about to spit you out of my mouth. Revelation 3: 15-16

One of our new neighbours is no longer trapped in a bland way of life.  Yet, for the first twelve years of her marriage, felt she was losing her identity in an endless procession of social events and chauffering of children.

In a search for answers, she set aside an hour each day for meditation.  As she did this over a period of weeks there came to her the realisation that she was being met in this quiet hour, at her point of need, by something more than her own thoughts and her own psyche, by Someone who loved her and who insisted that His love must be passed on to her family and her friends.

“I realised one day that my church had little more meaning for me than did our country club, she said. “I called our pastor and asked if there was a Bible study.”

That’s what brought her and her husband to our house, where eight couples were already meeting twice a month to find ways to relate the Bible to some everyday problems we were all facing.  Out of this experience, has come a new level of shared concerns for us all and the exiting discovery of answers sought out together.

As I ponder my friend’s story, I’ve concluded that we don’t have to settle for blandness in life; God, who is the Author of creativity, is ready to make a dull life adventuresome the moment we allow His Holy Spirit to go to work inside us.

Catherine Marshall

Comments
5 Responses to “Author of Creativity”
  1. Bibi says:

    Very nice post! We absolutely do not have to settle for anything including blandness in our life. Meditation is one way to get your life back on track and get spiritual connection….I know. I started daily personal meditation and weekly group meditation 2 months ago and it changed my life.

  2. It is so important to align ourselves for God….

  3. Terrina Venditti says:

    We fill our lives with surface activities and most of our friends are little more than acquaintances. Real adventure starts when we dare to get off the surface and go deeper. Not just Sunday morning but small group; not just car pool, but inviting the family over for the evening, not just a quick donation but giving time. In our stay in the shallows world of Facebook, texting, email and tweets our journey’s adventure becomes very plain vanilla and consequently we become somewhat invisible. I know this very well and have lived there. Connect vertically, on our knees and with each other. I had to open up to new things and new people…be daring and challenge myself to do something new, different, or meet someone and then follow up with a coffee. God is changing me and i can feel the significance He gives me is impacting my world!

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
