This Lovely Shell – Legend

Image

There’s a pretty little legend
That I would like to tell
Of the birth and death of Jesus
Found in this lovely shell

If you examine closely
you’ll see that you find here
Four nail holes and a fifth one
Made by the Roman spear

One on each side is the Easter lily
it’s center is the star
That appeared unto the shepherds
and led them from afar

The Christmas poinsettia
Etched on the other side
Reminds us of His birthday
our happy Christmastide

Now break the center open
and here you will release
The five white doves awaiting
To spread goodwill and peace

This simple little symbol
Christ has left for you and me
To help us spread His gospel
Through all eternity.

Thank you for sharing this with me June Lowther!

Comments
6 Responses to “This Lovely Shell – Legend”
  1. Nichole says:

    I used to collect sand dollars as a kid and this poem made me realize I knew next to nothing about the little creatures. Just spent way too much time reading about them in wikipedia 🙂

  2. I’ve heard this before—- love it!

  3. Amanda says:

    I had never heard of this I was never a fan of seashell collection but now I can definitely see the appeal it can have.

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
