The Book of Hosea – Serving by Loving – The Sinners Prayer

Hosea prophesies during the last days of Israel (see 2 Kings 14:23 17-41) .

Focusing on her sin of spiritual adultery (that is idolatry). He warns them God will punish them unless they change their ways.  But he also reminds them of God’s incredible love, pleading with them to repent. As you read this book, think of God’s love in sending his Son Jesus to die for you, in spite of your sins.  Repent of your unfaithfulness to the Lord and turn to Him today.

Paul entreats us:  “Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery” (Galatians 5:1)

Our freedom from bondage to sin can be illustrated this way.  It is as if a woman had a male employer, she is paid  for her work in weekly wages and is under the rules of her employer, whom she had tried to please but toward whom her service had been one of obligation only.  Finally, however, the employer falls in love with her, and she becomes his bride and shares all his fortunes. At once the whole spirit of her service is changed. She may perhaps continue to do the same things that she did before, but she does them now from a different motive. The old sense of duty is lost in the new sense of Love.  The cold word ’employer’ is transformed into the loving word ‘husband’.

“In that day,” declares the Lord

“You will call me ‘my husband’;

you will no longer call me ‘my master'”

(Hosea 2:16)

Imagine this bride beginning after a while to look back on her low estate and to be so overwhelmed by the retrospect as to feel unworthy of union with her husband, and subsequently to lose the inward sense of his union.  Who can doubt that very soon the old sense of working for wages would drive out the new sense of working for love, and in spirit the old name, ‘my employer,’ would take the place of the new name, ‘my husband’.?

We exclaim at the folly of such as course.  But isn’t this just what happens to many Christians?!

We are not slaves bt the children of God and therefore his heirs; and our possessions come to us not by working for them, but by the inheritance from our Father.

Praise God!!! Hallelujah!!!

If you have not as yet given your life to the Lord and would like to do so now…. Pray this prayer and contact your local Church for direction and leadership.

The Sinners Prayer

“Heavenly Father, have mercy on me, a sinner. I believe in you and that your word is true. I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of the living God and that he died on the cross so that I may now have forgiveness for my sins and eternal life. I know that without you in my heart my life is meaningless.

I believe in my heart that you, Lord God, raised Him from the dead. Please Jesus forgive me, for every sin I have ever committed or done in my heart, please Lord Jesus forgive me and come into my heart as my personal Lord and Savior today. I need you to be my Father and my friend.

I give you my life and ask you to take full control from this moment on; I pray this in the name of Jesus Christ.”

Amen.

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “The Book of Hosea – Serving by Loving – The Sinners Prayer”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] “Hosea” by Keilan | The Scripture To Music Collective1The Book of Hosea – Serving by Loving – The Sinners Prayer « Debra's ~ Daily […]

  2. […] The Book of Hosea – Serving by Loving – The Sinners Prayer (debras-daily-dialogue.com) […]



I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
