Turning something ugly into something beautiful!

The story is told of an old Scottish fisherman who was having afternoon tea with some friends in a little tea room by the sea.  As he was describing some of his fishing exploits of the day, his hand accidentally knocked over his cup of tea.  An ugly, brown tea stain appeared on the freshly whitewashed wall beside him.

‘Never mind about the stain,’ said a friend as he rose from his chair and drew from his pocket a brown crayon.  There emerged from that ugly, brown tea stain a magnificent stag with antlers spread and back arched.  The friend of the fisherman was one of England’s most famous painters.

Life is full of ugly tea stains that splash against whitewashed walls.   Reality often seems to be more obstacle than opportunity, more pain than pleasure, more chaos than calm, more hurt than happiness and more tension than tenderness.  But, if I interpret Romans 8:28 correctly, I must believe that as a woman of God, He is using everything in my life to make me more like himself.

Together, He and I can take the tea stains in my life and make something out of them.  We can take the chaos and be calm, take the tensions and be tender, take the hurts and be content, take the obstacles and build opportunities.  That is what God offers me from life.

And …. when God says that’s what He can do for me, only my unbelief keeps me from experiencing it.

If the Christian life is worth living, then God is worth believing.

If I believe God, which I do, there is no end to the possibilities!

Comments
11 Responses to “Turning something ugly into something beautiful!”
  1. Marie Noelle says:

    Really well said! “there is no end to the possibilities” <- I love that, it gives hope!

  2. Modern Gypsy says:

    That is simply beautiful!

  3. Kristi says:

    Well said. An enlightening post, sweetie.

  4. Candi says:

    Thanks Debra, Some of the most beautiful things come from our mess.

  5. Trianna says:

    Debra,
    I really enjoyed this particular message. I have to say that often I find at the times I need it most, I hear what I need to hear.
    Thank you!

  6. “If I believe God, which I do, there is no end to the possibilities!”….I couldn’t said it better myself….

  7. Lisa Taylor says:

    I love it. Beautifully said. I’m saving this one 🙂

  8. Alexis Grace says:

    I have heard this before—- and loved it then and now!

  9. Wow, that’s quite a stain, then. Mine just look like “Oh, hey. You spilled something.”

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
