The showers of life

If you study this painting, one of the surprises you will find is that the major part of the canvas is covered in dark shades of black, blue and green.  These rather drab colours stand in stark contrast to the delicate pastels.  Actually, they serve to highlight the beautiful floral’s, which appear rich and striking upon the deep, dark waters.  At first glance, your eyes are drawn to the colourful petals – then you realise that Monet painted the dark tones to enhance the lighter.

Monet’s painting has much to remind me about the water garden of ‘my life’ and of its ‘Artist’.

First, it encourages me that there is a purpose and design to my life, and that perhaps, at times, I focus too exclusively on the darker portions of ‘my’ painting.

It also reminds me that my Lord, the Artist of my life, has intentionally allowed the blue, green and yes, sometimes even the gray and  black hues to be brushed on my canvas for a reason.

God uses these shadows to make my life richer.  Often, when I have been misunderstood by friends or my expectations have ben dashed, I can see, how, his handiwork creates a brilliance of colour and beauty from pain and suffering.  The Artist uses a multitude of techniques in our lives to help us become the people He created us to be.

Finally, I am reminded that just like the water lilies in Monet’s masterpieces, God keeps the leaves and petals afloat through the muck, wind and rain that are part of the storms of life.  Water gardens survive showers ~ ‘the showers of life’ ~ and I will too, by God’s help and grace.

Thank you Father!

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
