Liberating (your soul)

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  

See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting

~ Psalm 139:23-24

Introspection

 

It is that time of the year when we should take stock and examine our soul.

Some prayers make no demands on the one who prays.  They lull the conscience. However, I believe, to pray meaningfully and in such a way that it also pleases the Holy Spirit, a prayer must be wholly truthful and it must be accompanied by a sincere willingness to engage in thorough introspection.

Requesting God to know your heart and to test your thoughts can be an experience that completely re-creates you.  It strips you of all egotism, superficiality and hypocrisy.  (You may not always like what you see).  It is humbling, but it can also be liberating.

Testing and evaluation in your spiritual life is an urgent necessity in the world today.  When the Holy Spirit compels us to ‘do introspection’, we become useful instruments in the hands of the Lord, and only then do we work for His honour! We should, then, no longer fear the future, placing our weak hands in His Almighty Hand and walk purposefully towards the unknown future. I don’t know about YOU but I find this totally exciting!

“Father God I willing submit myself to the testing of the Holy Spirit, and ask you to continue shaping me for your service”.

Introspection never means to give up anything, because something you give up is a loss.  The Lord only asks us to give up the things of the world in exchange for things that are much better.

~ Fulton J Sheen~

I love hearing from you so, please consider “Commenting: this is a valuable part of my growth as a blogger and person :)

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
  • *

  • *

  • red butterfly Pictures, Images and Photos
